Om Sweet Om Yoga
12 Irma Avenue
Port Washington, NY 11050
516.944.9642
www.omsweetomyoga.com

Open


This class is taught by:

Kathleen Katzmann

Kathleen turned to yoga in 2002 when she was expecting her 4th son, and has been practicing regularly ever since. Having put her body through much wear and tear growing up as a competitive gymnast and acrobat, ultimately fracturing a vertebra during college cheerleading, she is grateful for the benefits that a consistent practice has brought. After receiving an engineering degree from Lehigh University and spending a few years on Wall Street in computer programming and investment banking, she decided to retire from a desk job due both to her bad back and desire to raise her family full time. For years amid a variety of athletic regimens including competitive martial arts, she powered through pain until finally discovering yoga. Kathleen knows firsthand the challenges of finding a balance of effort and ease (shtira and sukkah) to deepen asanas without furthering injury, and brings this understanding to her students. Her ultimate goal as a teacher is to bring her students not only physical but mental and spiritual rewards of yoga, infusing them with tidbits of yogic philosophy, sanskrit, and theory behind the asanas. Kathleen completed her 200 hour RYT training in 2015 at Om Sweet Om and an additional training in Restorative Yoga with Gail Grossman in 2016. While her go-to personal practice is ashtanga-inspired vinyasa, she can be found teaching a variety of classes at all levels, specific to the students in front of her at any given moment. She has participated in classes and workshops with many renowned yogis, and is grateful to all of her teachers past and present for helping to shape her practice, philosophy and teaching style.
This class is for experienced beginners who wish to take their practice to the next level. Vinyasa Flow level one classes include the basics of a flow class, which is a dynamic practice that focuses on combining movement with breath control - an energizing and invigorating yogic experience.

This class is appropriate for all levels of yoga students who have some experience with yoga. The instructor will offer modifications for newer students as well as more challenging poses for advanced students. (not recommended for pure beginners)


Upcoming classes:

  • Wed Oct 18 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm with Kathleen Katzmann
  • Wed Oct 25 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm with Kathleen Katzmann
  • Wed Nov 01 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm with Kathleen Katzmann
  • Wed Nov 08 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm with Kathleen Katzmann
  • Wed Nov 15 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm with Kathleen Katzmann
  • Wed Nov 22 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm with Kathleen Katzmann
  • Wed Nov 29 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm with Kathleen Katzmann
  • Wed Dec 06 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm with Kathleen Katzmann
  • Wed Dec 13 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm with Kathleen Katzmann
  • Wed Dec 20 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm with Kathleen Katzmann
  • Wed Dec 27 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm with Elena Box
  • Wed Jan 03 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm with Kathleen Katzmann
  • Wed Jan 10 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm with Kathleen Katzmann
  • Wed Jan 17 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm with Kathleen Katzmann
  • Wed Jan 24 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm with Kathleen Katzmann
  • Wed Jan 31 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm with Kathleen Katzmann
  • Wed Feb 07 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm with Kathleen Katzmann
  • Wed Feb 14 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm with Kathleen Katzmann