Om Sweet Om Yoga
12 Irma Avenue
Port Washington, NY 11050
516.944.9642
www.omsweetomyoga.com

Yin Yoga


This class is taught by:

Ryan LaBella

Ryan received his 200 Hour TT at Bonda Yoga in Great Neck under the guidance of Laurie Ahlemann and Jennie Wilson. Ryan also is a certified Yin Yoga instructor, received by Corinna Benner at Integral Yoga.

Laurie Ahlemann

Laurie Ahlemann has been practicing and teaching Vinyasa Flow yoga on Long Island since 1999. She is certified at the 500 hour level in the ISHTA yoga style. She attended the Be Yoga 500 hour certification program in New York City under the guidance of Alan Finger, founder of Ishta yoga (Integrated Science of Hatha, Tantra and Ayuveda.) She is registered with the Yoga Alliance as an E-RYT 500 experienced registered yoga teacher). Laurie also studied Raja Yoga Meditation at the Brahma Kumaris Spiritual Center in Great Neck, Long Island for two years. These principles are applied in her guided meditation classes. She also attended a Yin Yoga Teacher Training with Corina Benner of Wake Up Yoga. In addition, she is a Reiki Master and a Master/Teacher of Magnified Healing. Laurie has also studied Anatomy and the philosophy of breath under Leslie Kaminoff at The Breathing Project in NYC. She is currently studying Bhakti Sastri through the Bhaktivedanta College. Laurie teaches a class that is energetically balanced with a breath-oriented flow that places focus on how to properly align the body to create easefulness and strength in the physical postures while creating a safe space for students' to move deeper inward. Laurie's classes meet each student where they are on their journey whether it be working toward deeper physical postures or uncovering the beauty and Divine Love that lives within.
Yin Yoga is a series of floor poses held for a longer duration of time in order to lengthen the connective tissues of the body. This helps us maintain a healthy range of motion in our joints and allows for the flow of Prana (vital life energy) to move through us. This practice is a great counter to the more active practices especially for athletes or those working through injuries because it brings the body back into optimal alignment. This alignment allows for more flexibility and stamina leading to heightened performance of any activity. Yin yoga is suitable for all levels of students.

Upcoming classes:

  • Sun Apr 30 5:30 pm - 6:45 pm with Ryan LaBella
  • Mon May 01 8:15 pm - 9:30 pm with Laurie Ahlemann
  • Sun May 07 5:30 pm - 6:45 pm with Ryan LaBella
  • Mon May 08 8:15 pm - 9:30 pm with Laurie Ahlemann
  • Sun May 14 5:30 pm - 6:45 pm with Ryan LaBella
  • Mon May 15 8:15 pm - 9:30 pm with Laurie Ahlemann
  • Sun May 21 5:30 pm - 6:45 pm with Ryan LaBella
  • Mon May 22 8:15 pm - 9:30 pm with Laurie Ahlemann
  • Sun May 28 5:30 pm - 6:45 pm with Ryan LaBella
  • Mon May 29 8:15 pm - 9:30 pm with Laurie Ahlemann
  • Sun Jun 04 5:30 pm - 6:45 pm with Ryan LaBella
  • Mon Jun 05 8:15 pm - 9:30 pm with Laurie Ahlemann
  • Sun Jun 11 5:30 pm - 6:45 pm with Ryan LaBella
  • Mon Jun 12 8:15 pm - 9:30 pm with Laurie Ahlemann
  • Sun Jun 18 5:30 pm - 6:45 pm with Ryan LaBella
  • Mon Jun 19 8:15 pm - 9:30 pm with Laurie Ahlemann
  • Sun Jun 25 5:30 pm - 6:45 pm with Ryan LaBella
  • Mon Jun 26 8:15 pm - 9:30 pm with Laurie Ahlemann
  • Sun Jul 02 5:30 pm - 6:45 pm with Ryan LaBella
  • Mon Jul 03 8:15 pm - 9:30 pm with Laurie Ahlemann